In pictures: Panasonic KWN Awards 2010

Primary and secondary school students battle it out with short movies

  • Primary and secondary school students from across Australia congregated at the Sydney Powerhouse Museum yesterday for the Panasonic Kid Witness News (KWN) awards. KWN is a video competition that encourages school students to shoot, direct and star in their own short movies covering topics such as sports, culture and the environment. The annual event is held globally, with more than 630 primary and secondary schools competing last year.

  • More than 180 students attended yesterday's event, with top honours going to Norfolk Village State School in Queensland (primary) and Kaurna Plains School in South Australia (secondary). Both schools will compete at the regional finals in Singapore with a chance to attend the international finals next year.

  • The star-studded event was emceed by KWN ambassador Toni Pearen; a celebrity with plenty of experience in the video field (Pearon used to host Australia's Funniest Home Video Show).

    Guests of honour included INXS lead guitarist Tim Farriss, three time AFI award nominee Khoa Do and renowned film editor Jane St Vincent Welch.

  • Panasonic Australia's Managing Director Steve Rust congratulated the kids on their efforts:

    "On behalf of everyone at Panasonic, thank you again for your participation. We hope that by participating in KWN, you will take these valuable skills into your future careers, and maybe some day we will see you either behind or in front of a camera."

  • Pearen proved to be a hit with the kids, doing an impromptu moonwalk not once, but twice.

  • Steve Rust and Khoa Do catch up during a break in the festivities.

  • Pearen congratulates representatives from Norfolk Village State School in Queensland. The awards were divided into each separate state, with the National Award going to the overall winner.

  • Assorted primary and secondary school students celebrate their win.

  • Various school representatives take to the stage.

  • Various school representatives take to the stage.

  • Various school representatives take to the stage.

  • Various school representatives take to the stage.

  • Various school representatives take to the stage.

  • Norfolk Village State School from Queensland was the big winner at the event with its video 'Environmental Rescue'. In addition to winning Best Video in the primary school category, the school also bagged a pair of National Spotlight Awards. The National Spotlight Awards highlight excellence in concept, editing, script writing and sound production.

    Their movie -- a conscious homage to Thunderbirds -- follows the exploits of a secret squad of animals who respond to emergency calls from other wildlife. The rocket launch sequence was a definite highlight.

  • Norfolk Village State School representatives got the 'red carpet' treatment after the ceremony, fielding questions from Toni Pearen and members of the press.

  • Kaurna Plains School was the other big winner at the event, taking out the Best Video prize in the secondary school category. Their movie 'Warraburna Kaurna’ pays tribute to the Aboriginal Kaurna language, which nearly became extinct.

    "[The film] is about how the the Kaurna language slept," explained school student Khyanah. "Some of my family don't know what culture they're from. We only speak a little bit of the language. ...We need to improve more."

    The film contained original music performed by students and some very evocative imagery; including a traditional Aboriginal dance set to bagpipes.

    Kaurna Plains School also took home a National Spotlight Award for Videography.

  • Alexandra Hills State High School - Queensland High School Winners.

  • Eagleby State School - National Spotlight Award for Concept.

  • Hackham East Primary School - SA Primary School Winners.

  • Kingswood College - VIC High School Winners.

  • Lake Munmorah Public School - NSW Primary School Winners.

  • Lithgow High School - NSW High School Winners.

  • Peter Moyes Anglican Community School - WA Primary School Winners.

  • Sandringham Primary School - Victorian Primary School Winners.

  • Swan View Senior High School - WA High School Winners.

  • Taroona High School - Tasmania High School Winners.

  • Waimea Heights Primary School - Tasmania Primary School Winners.

Show Comments

Don’t have an account? Sign up here

Don't have an account? Sign up now

Forgot password?